Saltire in the hills

One day as I headed out for another walk, I saw something moving in the distance and as I got closer I realised it was a flag. Right in the middle of the hills, with no one else to be seen, this Saltire was proudly flying on a plastic pole carefully wedged into a low cairn beside the path.

The strength of the wind, the moodiness of the weather and this magnificent flag just cried out for a good picture. To this day I have no idea who put it there. I never saw another soul out walking that morning. It struck a chord in this Scotsman’s heart though!

The small hill poking up in the distance just to the left of the flag is Mendick Hill (grid ref NT 121 506).

saltire-baddinsgill

 

Leave a Reply

