Dressing for the occasion

Being an ardent people watcher, I’ve always found what folk wear to events quite fascinating.

Mostly when working, I dressed as smart casual, usually because, with heavy bags and two or three metal cases full of necessary picture taking tools, I needed to be comfortable. If it was a fairly formal occasion I occasionally wore a morning suit with tie, just to blend in.

On black tie evening functions if I was photographing some VIP’s or Royals, I even went as far as hiring a formal dinner suit, although quite honestly these are bloody uncomfortable to work in especially with three Nikon SLR’s & flashguns around your neck!

These two pics were done during a local afternoon event I’d been asked to photograph when I went out for a bit of fresh air during a break in the proceedings. I found the contrasting dress styles quite amusing.

mix-of-styles

mix-of-styles2

Leave a Reply

